Programs and Campaigns

Programs and Campaigns image of kids

2013 CDF Freedom Schools® Sponsor Organizations

ALABAMA

Village of Promise

200 Pratt Ave. Ste 2B

Huntsville, AL  35801

Ms. Gloria P. Batts

256-536-8050

gbatts@villagepromise.com

ARKANSAS 

Helena-West Helena School District

305 Valley Drive

Helena-West Helena, AR  72342

Ms. Cortney S. Jackson

870-572-6744

cojackson@hwh.grsc.k12.ar.us

Boys, Girls, Adult Community Development Center, Inc.

P.O. Box 1356

Marvell, AR  72366

Mr. Louis Jr Bennett

870-829-3275

lbennettjr@yahoo.com

CALIFORNIA 

LightWave Education

333 Palmer Drive, Suite 220

Bakersfield, CA  93309

Ms. Lisa Elzy Watson

310-348-1250 ext. 1311

agapecdf@agapelive.com

Agape International Spiritual Center

5700 Buckingham Parkway

Culver City, CA  90230

Ms. Lisa Elzy Watson

310-348-1250 ext. 1311

agapecdf@agapelive.com

Read Lead

310-893-0899

cassandra@readlead.org

Los Angeles County Office of Education

9300 Imperial Highway

Downey, CA  90242

First Community Development Corporation

9550 Crenshaw Blvd.

Inglewood, CA  90305

Ms. Arna Fulcher

323-600-1223

Afulcher@firstchurchofgod.com

Success in Challenges, Inc.

3602 Brayton Ave.

Long Beach, CA  90807

Ms. Paula Wood

800-791-5952

paulaboonewood@yahoo.com

Community Coalition

8101 S. Vermont Ave.

Los Angeles, CA  90044

Ms. Aurea Montes-Rodriguez

323-750-9087

aurea@cocosouthla.org

FNCF Community Development Corporation

1555 West 108th Street

Los Angeles, CA  90047

Ms. Loretta Ryals-Johnson

323-756-2541

LorettaRyals@aol.com

Miguel Contreras Foundation and UCLA Center for Labor Research and Education

675 South Park View Street

Los Angeles, CA  90057

Ms. Fabiola Inzunza

213-480-4155 ext. 221

fabiola.inzunza@ucla.edu

Stephen S. Wise Temple

15500 Stephen S. Wise Drive

Los Angeles, CA  90077

Ms. Jennifer Smith

310-889-2265

Jsmith@WiseLA.org

Hannah Project Partnership for Academic Achievement

441 Drake Avenue

Marin City, CA  94965

Ms. Bettie Hodges

415-419-1605

bettiehodges@comcast.net

Lincoln Child Center

4368 Lincoln Avenue

Oakland, CA  94602

Mr. Macheo Payne

510-531-3111 ext. 106

macheopayne@lincolnchildcenter.org

Pasadena Unified School District

351 South Hudson Avenue, Room 222

Pasadena, CA  91109

Dr. Denise Collier

626-396-3614

collier.denise@pusd.us

Mt. Erie Christian Academy

504 S. 47th Street

San Diego, CA  92113

Ms. Kailyn Conway

619-263-1914

mteriedirector@aol.com

Third Baptist Church of San Francisco

1399 McAllister Street

San Francisco, CA  94115

Ms. Tiffini E. Jones

415-346-9316

TBCSFFREEDOMSCHOOL@GMAIL.COM

DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA 

Maya Angelou/See Forever Foundation

1436 U Street NW, Ste. 203

Washington, DC  20009

United Planning Organization

301 Rhode Island Ave NW

Washington, DC  20001

Mr. De Angelo Rorie

202-610-0466

drorie@upo.org

DELAWARE 

Peter Spencer Family Life Foundation

812 N. Franklin Street

Wilmington, DE  19806

Mr. Joseph Brumskill

302-764-8971

joe-tcb@msn.com

FLORIDA 

South Dade Weed & Seed, Inc.

P.O. Box 901415

Homestead, FL  33090

Ms. Robin Wright

305-242-5311

robin@sdwsinc.org

Sweet Vine Incorporated

144 NW 11th Street

Homestead, FL  33030

Ms. Tonnette Collier

305-246-1193

tonnettec@sweetvine.org

Belafonte TACOLCY Center, Inc.

6161 NW 9th Ave.

Miami, FL  33127

Mr. Taj Brown

(305) 751-1295

tbrown@tacolcy.org

Peacemakers Family Center Inc.

17801 NW 2nd Avenue

Miami Gardens, FL  33169

Ms. Kathie Hardcastle

786-888-4768

khardcastle@peacemakers.com

Vision to Victory Human Services Coporation

13230 NW 7th Avenue

North Miami, FL  33168

Ms. Mae D. Bryant

305-619-3464

mbryant@vvhsc.com

Free to Be Me, Inc.

872 Edgeforest Terrace

Sanford, FL 

Dr. Gail Choice

407-687-7185

Gchoice51@gmail.com

GEORGIA 

City of Atlanta – Dept. of Parks, Recreation & Cultural Affairs

233 Peachtree Street, Ste. 1700

Atlanta, GA  30303

Ms. Samantha-Nicole Terry

404-546-6765

snterry@atlantaga.gov

HAWAII 

CDF Freedom Schools® Hawaii

Kealakekua, HI

Ms. Lilinoi K. Grace

808-365-3099

lgrace@childrensdefense.org

ILLINOIS 

Coppin Community Center

5627 S. Michigan Avenue

Chicago, IL  60637

Rev. Dr. Barbara A. Wilson

773-667-5881

revbawilson@coppiname.org

God Can Ministries, UCC

1326 E. 72nd Place

Chicago, IL  60619

Ms. Sharell A. Holmes

773-398-0996

screendiva32@yahoo.com

Southwest Organizing Project

2609 W 63rd Street

Chicago, IL  60629

Ms. Shoshanah Yehudah

773-471-8208

syehudah.swop@sbcglobal.net

Trinity United Church of Christ

400 West 95th Street

Chicago, IL  60628

Ms. Janet Moore

773-966-1690

jmw400@aol.com

Woodlawn Children's Promise Community

6320 South Dorchester Ave., Room FC-100

Chicago, IL  60637

Ms. Nina N. Longino

773-535-6876

NLongino@woodlawnpromise.org

Springfield Urban League, Inc.

100 N. 11th Street

Springfield, IL  62703

Ms. Santita Nunn

217-789-0830 ext. 203

santita.nunn@springfieldul.org

KANSAS 

Oak Ridge Baptist Church

9301 Parallel Parkway

Kansas City, KS  66112

Ms. Jacqueline Pierson Tomlin

913-788-5657

freedomschool@live.com

The Antioch Family Life Center

1921 SE Indiana Avenue

Topeka, KS  66607

Ms. Glenda DuBoise

785 232-2584

aflcexec@antiochtopeka.org; gduboise@sbcglobal.net

LOUISIANA 

Abounding Love Ministries, Inc.

P.O. Box 74853

Baton Rouge, LA  70874

Ms. Ella Sue Evans

225-356-4441

aboundinglovemins@bellsouth.net; ellasue53@gmail.com

East Baton Rouge Parish School System

Baton Rouge, LA 

Ms. Darlene Brister

225-922-5553

dbrister@ebrschools.org

Campti Community Development Center, Inc.

P.O. Box 255

Campti, LA  71411

Ms. Judy L. Daniels

318-228-5454

danielsj2003@yahoo.com

CDF – Broad Street Storefront

1452 N. Broad Street

New Orleans, LA  70119

Ms. Dana Jones

504-309-2376

djones@childrensdefense.org

MASSACHUSETTS 

College Avenue United Methodist Church

1 Powderhouse Terrace #2

Somerville, MA  02144-2035

Rev. Justin Hildebrandt

617-776-4172

pastor@connexionumc.org

MARYLAND 

Elev8 Baltimore/East Baltimore Development Inc.

1731 East Chase Street

Baltimore, MD  21213

Mr. Mark Carter

410 327-7383

mark.carter@ebdi.org

National Center for Children and Families

6301 Greentree Road

Bethesda, MD  20817-3368

Mt. Jezreel Baptist Church

420 University Blvd. East

Silver Spring, MD  20901

Ms. Marion Brown

410-581-4293

proposalworks@aol.com

MICHIGAN 

Read Aloud, LLC

282 Garfield Ave.

Battle Creek, MI  49017

Ms. Mischa Smith

313-575-6228

mishcamr2@aol.com

Covert Public Schools

35323 M-140

Covert, MI  49043

Mr. Ricky Jones

269-764-3720

jonesr@covertps.org

Oak Grove African Methodist Episcopal Church

19801 Cherrylawn Ave.

Detroit, MI  48221

Rev. Cherida D. Gary

313-341-8877

dailysunshine.24.7@gmail.com

Building Child & Family Initiatives- A Community Empowerment Center (BCFI)

P.O. Box 4304

East Lansing, MI  48826

Ms. Marian Brooks Bryant

517-290-3004

mbbryant_lancen@yahoo.com

Educating for Freedom in Schools

P.O. Box 51445

Kalamazoo, MI  49005

Ms. Demarra Gardner

269-779-0415

freedomschoolskzoo@gmail.com

MINNESOTA 

Kwanzaa Community Church

2100 Emerson Ave. North

Minneapolis, MN  55411

Ms. Kowanna Powell-Anderson

651-287-0890

kowannapa@yahoo.com

La Creche Early Childhood Development Centers, Inc.

1800 Olson Memorial Highway

Minneapolis, MN  55411

Ms. Phyllis Sloan

612-377-1786

lacrechekids@hotmail.com

Minneapolis Stadium View School

510 Park Avenue South

Minneapolis, MN  55410

Park Avenue Youth & Family Services

3400 Park Avenue S

Minneapolis, MN  55407

Ms. Michelle Higgins

612-825-6863

michelle.higgins@payfs.org

Pillsbury United Communities-Oak Park

125 West Broadway Ave Suite 130

Minneapolis, MN  55411

Ms. Sarah Klouda

612-787-3710

Kloudas@puc-mn.org

Sojourner Truth Academy

3820 Emerson Ave. N

Minneapolis, MN  55412

Ms. Heidi Wise

612-588-3599

heidiwise@gmail.com

Academia Cesar Chavez Charter School

1800 Ames Ave.

St. Paul, MN  55119

Ms. Jennifer Villella

651-778-2940

jvillella@cesarchavezschool.com

St. Paul Area Council of Churches

1671 Summit Avenue

St. Paul, MN  55108

Rev. Dr. Darcel Hill

651-789-3853

dmhill@blackberry.net

MISSOURI 

Kansas City Freedom School Initiative

2200 Olive Street

Kansas City, MO  64127

Rev. Darren Faulkner

816-483-3717

dfaulkner@kcfreedomschools.org

Beyond Housing

4156 Manchester

St. Louis, MO  63110

Mr. Terry Wilson

314-862-0639 ext. 15

twilson@beyondhousing.org

MISSISSIPPI 

Alcorn State University

100 ASU Drive 359

Alcorn State, MS  39096

Dr. Valerie Thompson

601-877-6385

valerie@alcorn.edu

Tabernacle Church

2350 Oakhurst Drive

Jackson, MS  39204

Ms. Catherine Coleman

601-572-7153

zeta3blumoon@yahoo.com

McComb School District

695 Minnesota Avenue

McComb, MS  39648

Mr. Whit W. Grace

601-684-4661

gracew@mccomb.k12.ms.us

NORTH CAROLINA 

Freedom School Partners

P.O. Box 37363

Charlotte, NC  28237

Ms. Macie A. Stewart

704-371-4922

macie@freedomschoolpartners.org

Davidson College – Center for Civic Engagement

Davidson College, P.O. Box 7181

Davidson, NC  28035

Mrs. Ashley Sherrill

704-894-2872

assherrill@davidson.edu

Duke University Office of Durham and Regional Affairs

700 West Main Street, Box 104352

Durham, NC  27708

Ms. Lindsey Naylor

919-668-1967

lindsey.naylor@duke.edu

Durham Public Schools

511 Cleveland Street

Durham, NC  27702

Ms. Kendra O'Neal-Williams

919-560-3816

kendra.oneal-williams@dpsnc.net

Black Child Development Institute of Greensboro, Inc.

1200 East Market Street

Greensboro, NC  27401

Ms. Karen Thompson

336-310-5660

kthompson@blackchilddevelopment.org

Guilford County Schools

712 N. Eugene St.

Greensboro, NC  27402

Ms. Susan Eubanks

336-574-2637

eubanks@gcsnc.com

Mount Airy City Schools

130 Rawley Ave.

Mt. Airy, NC  27030

Mr. Jesse Hiatt

336-786-8355

jhiatt@mtairy.k12.nc.us

Church on the Rise Peacemakers Family

1725 Davis Street

Rocky Mount, NC  27803

Mr. Jesse Lewis

252-972-7473

jesse@churchontherise.org

Kimberley Park Elementary School

1701 N Cherry Street

Winston-Salem, NC  27105

Ms. Amber M. Baker, PhD.

336-703-6731

ambaker@wsfcs.k12.nc.us

NEW JERSEY 

Shiloh Community Development Corporation

416 Bellevue Avenue, Suite 201

Trenton, NJ  08618

Mr. Jerome Harris

609-392-0034

info@shilohcdc.org

NEVADA 

Las Vegas' Promise

P. O Box 55819

Las Vegas, NV  89033-5819

Ms. Rebekah Piper

702-378-4963

rebekah.piper@gmail.com

NEW YORK 

St. Ann's Church of Morrisania

295 St. Ann's Avenue

Bronx, NY  10454

Rev. Martha Overall

718-585-5632

overallmartha@me.com

First Corinthian Baptist Church

1912 Adam Clayton Powell Jr. Blvd.

New York, NY  10026

Ms. Desiree Allen

212-864-5976 ext. 18

dallen@fcbcnyc.org

North East Area Development, Inc.

360 Webster Ave.

Rochester, NY  14609

Ms. Brittany Calvin

585 482-8359

brownb52@yahoo.com

Rochester City School District

131 West Broad Street

Rochester, NY  14614

Ms. Djinga St. Louis

585-268-8430

djinga.st.louis@rcsdk12.org

St. Paul Community Baptist Church

859 Hendrix Street

Brooklyn, NY  11207

Ms. Debra Brawley

718-257-1300

debrabrawley@ymail.com

OHIO 

Christ Emmanuel Christian Fellowship

6263 Orchard Lane

Cincinnati, OH  45213

Ms. Valecia Kelly

513-363-6938

fresta8990@gmail.com

Cincinnati Public Schools

2651 Burnett Ave.

Cincinnati, OH  45219

Ms. Pamula Thomas

513-363-0569

thomasp@cps-k12.org

New Jerusalem Community Center

26 W. North Bend Road

Cincinnati, OH  45216

Ms. Elizabeth Jones

513-821-0704

ljon48@hotmail.com

Ohio River Valley District of the United Methodist Church

4400 Reading Road Suite 1

Cincinnati, OH  45229

Rev. Dr. Jocelyn M. Roper

513-421-2057

jroper@wocumc.org

Cuyahoga Community College

700 Carnegie Ave.

Cleveland, OH  44115

Ms. Nichelle Knox

216-987-6408

Nichelle.Knox@tri-c.edu

East Cleveland Neighborhood Center

2490 Lee Blvd. Suite 322

Cleveland, OH  44112

Ms. Dabney Conwell

216-932-3626

dconwell@ec-nc.org

Asbury North United Methodist Church

1586 Clifton Avenue

Columbus, OH  43203

Ms. Irma Phillips-Carmichael

614-258-4093

Icarmich@sbcglobal.net

Broad Street United Methodist Church

501 E Broad Street

Columbus, OH  43215

Mr. Gregory E. Kendrick, Jr.

614-221-4571 ext. 133

gkendrick@broadstreetumc.net

Community Development for All People

946 Parsons Ave.

Columbus, OH  43206

Ms. Rachel Ward

614-477-6775

aspd@4allpeople.net

Ebenezer Ethiopian Evangelical Church

530 McNaughten Road

Columbus, OH  43213

Rev. Dr. Berhanu Arsse

614-863-3124

arsseber@gmail.com

Greater Hilltop Area Shalom Zone/New Horizons Hilltonia UMC

1665 Harrisburg Pike

Columbus, OH  43223

Rev. Julia Nielsen

614-398-1230

director@hilltopshalomzone.org

Olde Southside Community Partnership

P.O. Box 7504

Columbus, OH  43207

Ms. Lisa L. Palmer

614-657-4083

osscp10@gmail.com

University District Freedom Schools Program

82 East 16th Avenue

Columbus, OH  43201

Ms. Grecca Walker

614-291-2165

greccawalker@summitumc.org

Urban Resurrection Community Development Corporation

428 E Main Street

Columbus, OH  43215

Ms. Dorinda Conner

614-221-3446

dorinda.conner@yahoo.com

Johnstown, Alexandria and Croton UMC

P.O. Box 127

Croton, OH  43013

Rev. Megan Croy

740-924-3731

meganrcroy@yahoo.com

Grace United Methodist Church

1001 Harvard Blvd

Dayton, OH  45406

Mr. Jared Roper

937-278-4731

jersings3@aol.com

Omega Community Development Corporation

1810 Harvard Blvd.

Dayton, OH  45406

Mr. Ervin Matthews

937-278-1008

TBSDayton@gmail.com

The Urban Minority Alcoholism & Drug Abuse Outreach Programs of Ohio (UMADAOP of Dayton)

One Elizabeth Place West Pavillion 4th Floor, Ste. 400

Dayton, OH  43417

Mr. Domonic Whatley

937-276-217

domonic.whatley@yahoo.com

Wesley Community Center, Inc.

3730 Delphos Ave.

Dayton, OH  45417

Ms. Angela Byrdsong

937-263-3556 ext. 32

angela.byrdsong@wesleycenterdayton.org

OKLAHOMA 

Freedom School Oklahoma City, Inc.

P.O. Box 54364

Oklahoma City, OK  73154

Ms. Amy Brooks Young

405-924-3143

amy.brooks74@yahoo.com

Greenwood Cultural Center

322 N. Greenwood

Tulsa, OK  74120

Ms. Frances Jordan-Rakestraw

918-596-1020

francesjordan@greenwoodculturalcenter.com

Metropolitan Tulsa Urban League

240 E. Apache Street

Tulsa, OK  74106

Ms. Kimberly McCurry

918-584-0001 ext. 302

kmccurry@mtul.org

PENNSYLVANIA 

The First Presbyterian Church in Germantown

35 W Chelten Ave.

Philadelphia, PA  19144

Ms. Eileen A. Jones

215-843-8811 ext. 14

eileenjones@hotmail.com

Kingsley Association

6435 Frankstown Ave.

Pittsburgh, PA  15206

Mr. Fred Brown

412-661-8751 ext. 134

fbrown@kingsleyassociation.org

SOUTH CAROLINA 

CDF – Marlboro County and Marlboro County School District

117 Cheraw Street

Bennettsville, SC  29512

Dr. Carolyn A. Prince

843-479-5050

cprince@childrensdefense.org

Richland School District One

1616 Richland St.

Columbia, SC  29201

Dr. Tambra Jackson

803-777-3077

tambra.jackson@sc.edu

Hampton County School District 2

P.O. Box 1028

Estill, SC  29918

Ms. LaToya M. Williams

803-625-5026

willLat@hampton2.k12.sc.us

Carolina Youth Development Center

5055 Lackawanna Blvd.

North Charleston, SC  29405

Ms. Barbara Kelley Duncan

843-266-5222

bkelleyduncan@cydc.org

Metanoia Community Development Corporation

2005 Reynolds Ave.

North Charleston, SC  29405

Ms. Erica Briggs

(843) 529-3014

erica@pushingforward.org

Claflin University

400 Magnolia Street

Orangeburg, SC  29115

Dr. Valerie E. Harrison

803-535-5225

vharrison@claflin.edu

TENNESSEE 

I Believe I Can Fly

3313 Calais Circle

Antioch, TN  37013

Mr. Roderick Glover

615-399-0444

icanflyproject@aol.com

Project GRAD USA

P. O. Box 383126

Germantown, TN  38138

Dr. Stephanie Hill

865-360-2226

shill@projectgradusa.org

TRIBE One

2112 E Magnolia Ave

Knoxville, TN  37917

Dr. Chonika Coleman-King

(865) 974-0443

coleking@utk.edu

Memphis Urban League, Inc.

413 North Cleveland Street

Memphis, TN  38104

Ms. Tonja S. Baymon

901-272-2491

tbaymon@memphisul.org

TEXAS 

Seasons of Change

805 Secretary Drive, Suite B

Arlington, TX  76015

Mr. Tavian Harris

817-532-6002

sofchanginc@aol.com

Fort Worth Independent School District

100 University Drive SW 207

Fort Worth, TX  76107

Dr. Danna Diaz

817-814-2930

danna.diaz@fwisd.org

Tarrant Baptist Association

4520 James  Avenue

Fort Worth, TX  76115

Ms. Becky Biser

817-927-1911

becky@tarrantbaptist.org

Nia Cultural Center, Inc.

P.O. Box 1491

Galveston, TX  77553

Ms. Cheryl Sue Johnson

409-765-7086

niacultural@sbcglobal.net

Harris County Juvenile Probation Department

1200 Congress Street

Houston, TX  77002

Waymaker Life Strategies, Inc.

P.O. Box 14971

Houston, TX  77221

Ms. Brandi Brown

832-443-8517

brandi@houstonfreedomschools.com

Margaret's Tree House

120 East FM 544 Suite 72-311

Murphy, TX  75094

Ms. Margertree C. Holmes

469-222-9349

margertree@margaretstreehouse.org

VIRGINIA 

Union United Church of Christ (Union UCC)

P.O. Box 1811

Norfolk, VA  23501

Rev. Brenda T. Brown

804-327-4514

freedomschoolatunion@unionuccnorfolk.org

WISCONSIN 

Parklawn Christian Leadership Academy

3725 N. Sherman Blvd.

Milwaukee, WI  53216

Mr. Myron Cain

414-442-3330

mcain@parklawn.org

Urban Roots

2600 N. 2nd St.

Milwaukee, WI  53212

Mr. Robert J. Macpherson

414-264-1616

rjmacpherson@wi.rr.com