Together We Can Make Sure All Children are Happy, Healthy and Ready to Learn! Let’s #InsureAllChildren

The Children’s Defense Fund (CDF) and AASA, The School Superintendents Association, have launched health insurance initiatives in 14 school districts large and small, urban and rural in California, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Texas to identify and enroll eligible children in Medicaid and the Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) through support from the federal Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services (2011-2013) and The Atlantic Philanthropies (2013-2016). This school health enrollment toolkit (#InsureAllChildren), supported by The Atlantic Philanthropies, contains lessons learned from districts in each of these states, with a major focus on the past three years in four school districts in California and three school districts in Texas.

Sign-Up to Get Alerted When the Toolkit is Available!

*By signing up you agree to receive periodic updates from both CDF and AASA.


The Children’s Defense Fund Leave No Child Behind® mission is to ensure every child a Healthy Start, a Head Start, a Fair Start, a Safe Start and a Moral Start in life and successful passage to adulthood with the help of caring families and communities. 

CDF provides a strong, effective and independent voice for all the children of America who cannot vote, lobby or speak for themselves. We pay particular attention to the needs of poor children, children of color and those with disabilities. CDF educates the nation about the needs of children and encourages preventive investments before they get sick, drop out of school, get into trouble or suffer family breakdown. 

CDF began in 1973 and is a private, nonprofit organization supported by individual donations, foundation, corporate and government grants.

AASA, The School Superintendents Association, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders in the United States and throughout the world. AASA’s mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to the highest quality public education for all children. For more information, visit